Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. If you want to email companies to ask about this ingredient, that may create positive change because the company will know consumers care about veganism. Sodium stearoyl lactylate is made from lactic acid and stearic acid, along with either sodium carbonate or sodium hydroxide to neutralize the acids. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate – This can be made from either plant or animal sources. Therefore, while most vegans are okay with sodium stearoyl lactylate, others prefer to avoid it. So how should you respond? Salts of stearoyl lactylates reacts with the gluten (starch) of dough directly to improve quality of the dough, also prevents aging of the product. Avoid foods that contain any of these ingredients: butter fat, butter oil, butter acid, butter ester. It is one type of a commercially available lactylate. We all know that Lactic acid can be vegan or non-vegan same with the Stearic acid. It’s also used in personal care products like moisturizers, shaving creams, scrubs, and other beauty products. (source). caseinates (in all forms) curds. Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate (sodium stearoyl lactylate or SSL) is a versatile, FDA approved food additive used to improve the mix tolerance and volume of processed foods. One of the possible side effects of … Therefore, sodium lauroyl lactylate is probably vegan. Your free cheat sheet will be in your email inbox shortly! This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. The “lactylate” name just comes from the lactic acid used to make sodium stearoyl lactylate. Please check with the manufacturer. Favourite answer "Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate" can come from things like cocoa butter or other plant products. If so, read my full review here (includes a 10% discount code in case you want to try it). It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. It contains: Jarplex™ MUR: functions as an emollient offering softness without a … A mixture of the sodium salts of stearoyl lactylic acids and its polymers and minor amounts of sodium salts of other related acids, manufactured by the reaction of stearic acid … Therefore, while most vegans are okay with sodium stearoyl lactylate, others prefer to avoid it. It is most common in yeast-raised bread products like bread, buns, and tortillas. 100% Privacy Guarantee. Always consult your healthcare provider before making changes to your diet, adopting new practices for therapeutic reasons, or taking supplements. To answer whether or not it’s vegan, we need to know where it comes from first. I covered this a bit more in my post all about whether lactic acid is vegan. Quote: Lactylates Calcium Stearoyl-2 Lactylate. Sodium lauroyl lactylate (SLL) is sometimes used in personal care products. Sodium stearoyl lactylate (E481) is typically vegan. Since calcium hydroxide is also a mineral source—not animal—CSL is also “typically vegan.”. custard. (includes a 10% discount code in case you want to try it). (includes a 10% discount code in case you want to try it). Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate offers unsurpassed skin moisturization and a smooth feel on application. For me, veganism is about making an impact for animals. It depends on your vegan ethics and your priorities. Anthony's Vital Wheat Gluten, 4 lb, High in Protein, Vegan, Non GMO, Keto Friendly, Low Carb 4.7 out of 5 stars 5,554. In the intro, it was mentioned that lactic acid can take a non-vegan form as sterol lactate, or SSL. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate is a natural, food grade, emulsifier derived from the sodium salt of lactic acid and stearic acid. Then later, you check the ingredients closer, and it says “contains milk.” Unfortunately, this happens, thanks to sodium caseinate. It does not contain dairy. If you see it in some food, you’ll need to contact the manufacturer to find out whether it was only derived from plant sources. Some vegans would prefer to “be safe” and not eat it. It is a Calcium salt of Steroyl Lactylic Acid and is used in some cosmetics, and foods, especially baked goods, as an emulsifier. One other resource says, “nearly always, vegetable oil will be used” for the production of sodium stearoyl lactylate. I remember when I first went vegan, I went to the grocery store and read the ingredients on all the bread. 35 Formulations containing SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYLATE . Stearic acid – Comes from fats, which can be plant or animal sources. However, the number is not always included. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate is a food additive that’s primarily used in processed foods to extend their shelf life. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. However, they may not be able to tell you exactly how all of the ingredients are sourced. (source), Calcium stearoyl lactylate is produced in a similar way as SSL (described above). The publisher of this content does not take responsibility for possible health consequences of any persons applying the information in this educational content. Many people mistakenly believe that lactic acid comes from milk, which is partially true, but the food industry uses lactic acid that is a result of fermenting carbohydrates, most typically potatoes, not extracting it from muscles or sour milk. There is some concern, however, since one of the ingredients is stearic acid, which can be derived from plant or animal sources. Lecithin – Again, some lecithin is vegan because it’s made from plant sources (i.e. March 31, 2020 Cole Whitney 4 comments Bread, Instaferm Gold, Instaferm Red, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate The Struggle: In cooking there are certain recipes that are so incredibly simple but the technique is quite the opposite…. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet the right way. It is generally safe for those who are lactose intolerant or have milk allergies (source). Want to hear about the best vegan multivitamin I've found in 13 years as a vegan? CSL is non-toxic, biodegradable, and typically manufactured using biorenewable feedstocks. Sodium stearoyl lactate falls into a “gray area” for vegans. I remember being stumped by this ingredient: Sodium stearoyl lactylate. Sodium stearoyl lactylate is not one of them. They use lactic acid produced by microbial fermentation and stearic acid that comes from soybean oil. It’s a gray area for vegans, but it is considered “typically vegan.”. some sodium stearoyl lactylate is vegan, and some is not. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (SSL) ⊘ Non-GMO OU Kosher Certified Gluten-Free ☮ Vegan - 50g/2oz 4.7 out of 5 stars 26. a vegan menu is a menu that has only vegan or some vegan food selections What is lactylate? Archer Daniel Midland Co. is one major manufacturer of sodium stearoyl lactylate. Sodium stearoyl lactylate is a very common food additive. Imagine you buy some “non-dairy” creamer. However, it was difficult to find solid data on this. If you want to look deeper into the sources of the sodium stearoyl lactylate in a specific product, you can always ask the company. It helps strengthen dough, mixes liquids and oils together, and it can even replace some fat and sugar. Because SSL is a safe and highly effective food additive, it is used in a wide variety of products ranging from baked goods and desserts to pet foods. Well, some sodium stearoyl lactylate is vegan, and some is not. Otherwise, you can take a risk that it might not be vegan, it’s up to you. It is used in foods such as bread, baked goods, pancakes and waffles, pudding, sauces, gum, snack dips, and more. It is one type of a commercially available lactylate. But I’d say it’s not a necessary ingredient for vegans to avoid. buttermilk. EU Food Additive Definition. It’s possible for lactic acid to be fermented from lactose—milk sugar—but that is not common. It is one of those things which may or may not be of animal origin. Further, the VRG, which does some of the best research on these matters, has decided to list sodium stearoyl lactylate as “Typically vegan.” (source). But let’s take a look at each of them in order. It’s formed through the esterification of stearic acid with lactic acid. This Jarchem™ Contactless Spray Lotion has a 99.8% natural origin content. Since Stearic Acid can be Vegan or Non-vegan as outlined in the linked article above, it’s hard to know if the Sodium Stearyol Lactylate used Vegan … Sodium stearoyl lactylate is considered dairy-free. I’ll also cover some related “lactylate” ingredients. Sodium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate --Not Vegan It is made by combining lactic acid and stearic acid, and then reacting the result with sodium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide to make the sodium or calcium salt. (Sweetener and Shortening), Are Pop Tarts Vegan? Read my full review of Nutriciously here. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount). It is similar to SSL—but lauric acid is used instead of stearic acid. It is the sodium salt of an long chained carboxylic acid containing two eater linkages. vegan nutrition mistakes! It is used as an emulsifier in processed foods. “Lactylate” sounds like it could be from milk… But is it? It is possible that the lauric acid comes from milk, but that’s not likely. (source). full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here. 8 Vegan Nutrition Mistakes That Are Undermining Your Progress. Sodium stearoyl lactylate E481 can be used in Food, Beverage, Pharmaceutical, Health & Personal care products, Agriculture/Animal Feed/Poultry. So, bringing all of this together… the one concern with sodium stearoyl lactylate for vegans is that the stearic acid could have been made from animals. (source). Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate. And they report that their product is vegetable-based. Stearoyl lactylaets replaces fat and sugar in the dough making and helps strengthen the dough. $14.59. An ADI of 0-20 mg/kg bw was established at the 17th JECFA (1973). White or slightly yellowish powder or brittle solid with a characteristic odour. This is the emulsifier of choice for all of your natural products when … It can also be found in the milk of cows, goats, and humans—but it seems to be more commonly plant-based. Sodium stearoyl lactylate, better known as SSL, is a food additive that has several qualities desired by food producers 1 2. 2. Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate may or may not be vegan. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (SSL) ⊘ Non-GMO OU Kosher Certified Gluten-Free ☮ Vegan - 400g/14oz: Amazon.ca: Grocery SSL is non-toxic, biodegradable, and typically manufactured using biorenewable feedstocks. They are both food additives used for similar purposes, especially in yeast-leavened baked goods. ✅ THRIVE on a plant-based diet with my ongoing email guidance! It’s used as an emulsifier (to encourage mixing), a foaming agent (creates bubbles), and can strengthen dough as well. Lactylate esters are permitted for use as food additives in essentially all countries around the world. Here’s why: Boycotting it doesn’t have much impact, but it makes veganism a lot harder. Read my full review here (includes a 10% discount code in case you want to try it). soy, sunflower), but animal-based lecithin is also quite common. The calcium salt of the stearic acid ester of lactyl lactate. When you see it listed in the ingredients, it’s possible that the product contains a small amount of a derivative of animal fat—but it likely doesn’t. This class is known as the lactylates and includes a variety of different compounds, including another food additive – calcium stearoyl lactylate … ghee. What is e471 in food? You’ll find it in everything from baked goods to whipped cream when it comes to food, and in a lot of beauty products. (These Flavors Might Be…). But 99% of the impact of a vegan diet comes from cutting out meat, dairy, eggs, and other major products that we know come from animals, like leather. Of those ingredients, stearic acid is the one of most concern to vegans. In this post, I’ll explain exactly how this ingredient is made, all the best evidence on whether it’s fully vegan or not, and how to handle that uncertainty as a vegan! The reason it can be non-vegan as well as vegan is because it’s made from/with Stearic Acid, which can either be vegan or non-vegan. This blog is reader supported. Most vegans would be fine with this ingredient. Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate (sodium stearoyl lactylate or SSL) is often used for emulsification, aging resistance, gluten fortifying, and keeping freshness in application of bread, noodles, instant noodles, milk, margarine, meat products, etc. Cocoabutter, coconut milk, calcium lactate, calcium stearoyl lactylate, oleoresein, cream of tartar, sodium stearoyl lactylate, and lactic acid (although lactic acid starter culture may contain milk). Metals and arsenic specifications revised at the 55th JECFA (2000). The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. It is chemically synthesized by combining stearic acid and lactic acid, and sodium hydroxide (caustic soda) that is also used in desserts and baked goods. And others will take the time to email the company and ask how the ingredient is sourced. View Privacy Policy. What’s Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate Made From? It does not contain dairy. Lactid Acid is Also Called Milk Acid Because It Comes From Milk. Lauric acid is mainly found in plant oils, such as coconut oil, laurel oil, and palm kernal oil. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. Product description Sodium stearoyl lactylate (SSL) is an excellent emulsifier for fat-in-water emulsions and is used widely in commercial food production, especially in baked goods where it is used to extend shelf life, provide a softer crumb and more volume in doughs. 1. SSL is more commonly used because it’s better at “crumb softening.” However, CSL is a better dough strengthener, so it’s preferred for certain types of bread. The content on IAmGoingVegan.com is intended only for informational and educational purposes. 0 0. milton b. Lv 7. We’ve covered that lactic acid is usually vegan. The difference is that calcium hydroxide is used in place of sodium carbonate or sodium hydroxide. Calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate (calcium stearoyl lactylate or CSL) or E482 is a versatile, FDA approved food additive. You'll also receive ongoing vegan-related content. SSL is typically manufactured from biorenewable feedstocks and is a commercially available non-toxic, biodegradable and FDA approved food additive widely used in baked goods, desserts and pet foods under the food label E481 (PubMed, Wikipedia). Stearic Acid can have animal or plant sources. Write a better description. Sodium stearoyl lactylate (E481) is typically vegan. casein. If you click a link on this page and buy something, I may receive an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. If so, read my full review here Your email address is safe with me. Want to hear about the best vegan multivitamin I've found in 13 years as a vegan? Is sodium stearoyl lactylate vegan? Or if you want to just avoid it because it grosses you out, feel free. E481 may or may not be vegan. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (SSL) is an emulsifier used in bread making to strengthen the dough during processing and to keep the crumb soft during storage. That is typically only done for lactic acid that’s going to be used in ice cream and other dairy products. Sodium caseinate is one of the most frustrating ingredients for strict vegans and those allergic to milk. Therefore, everything above about sodium stearoyl lactylate also applies to sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate. lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate. Lactic acid is typically produced by fermenting carbohydrates like corn and molasses. SSL is non-toxic, biodegradable, and typically manufactured using biorenewable feedstocks. It is not intended to provide medical advice or to replace your doctor or health practitioner in any way. In the United States there are three separate regulations: calcium stearoyl lactylate (CSL), sodium stearoyl lactylate (SSL) and lactylic esters of fatty acids (LEFA). Calcium stearoyl lactylate (CSL) is very similar to sodium stearoyl lactylate (SSL). diacetyl. CALCIUM STEAROYL-2-LACTYLATE Prepared at the 46th JECFA (1996), published in FNP 52 Add 4 (1996) superseding specifications prepared at the 44th JECFA (1995), published in FNP 52 Add 3 (1995). Cool information – I am going to contact the maker of the cookies… THX, We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site. This is just another name for sodium stearoyl lactylate. I bet you're making at least one of these 8 vegan nutrition mistakes... ✅ Download my FREE 1-page cheat sheet with 8 common Get my FREE cheat sheet with 8 vegan nutrition mistakes you need to avoid—plus more plant-based guidance. Be Awesome. Stearic acid may have animal origin, which makes the end product not suitable for vegan customers. So, the stearic acid could be sourced from animals—but is it usually? Sodium stearoyl lactylate, 481 (i), is a subclass of Sodium lactylates (E481 ). It is important to distinguish food intolerance from true allergies; by doing this, proper management can be done. Plus, it’s only used in small amounts. Lactic acid – Lactic acid is usually vegan. It is one type of a commercially available lactylate. In most cases it’s vegan, but it can also be non-vegan depending on its source. No content on this website is intended to diagnose, cure, treat, or prevent any disease, health condition, or illness. Note: Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate is the same compound, again typically vegan. Also known as Sodium Stearoyl-2 Lactylate, it is a salt of a compound of Stearic Acid, Lactic Acid, and Polylactic Acid, used in foods and cosmetics as an emulsifier. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate is made by combining Lactic Acid with Stearic Acid and then reacting the result with sodium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide to make the sodium or calcium salt. It is used to help foods mix together well and also to increase the volume of certain foods. Sodium stearoyl lactylate isn’t the most well-known ingredient, but once you start reading ingredient labels, you’ll see it everywhere. Others (like me) are fine with just eating it. Food intolerance to sodium stearoyl lactylate is caused by abnormal digestive reactions to the food additive. Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate is produced from chemical reactions of Stearic Acid, Lactic Acid and Polylactic Acid and can have animal, plant, or microorganism sources. Although I cannot answer with absolute certainty; like many food additives, SSL can be derived from both plant and animal sources. So, the main ingredients in sodium lauroyl lactylate are lactic acid and lauric acid. The Complete List of Store-Bought Vegan Desserts to Buy, Is Sweetex Vegan? For me, I’m okay with eating sodium stearoyl lactylate. Sodium stearoyl lactylate, or stearoyl-2-lactylate, is an FDA approved food additive that’s highly versatile and thus used in a wide range of foods to improve the volume and mix tolerance of processed foods. Learn more. casein hydrolysate. When it comes to sodium stearoyl lactylate, we don’t even know whether it’s being sourced from animals. Skin Care: Jarchem™ Contactless Spray Lotion by Jarchem Industries. (Dictionary) Improves the mixing properties of flour and the gas-holding properties of dough, and thus allows larger, lighter loaves to be made. Sodium stearoyl lactate, also known as SSL or E481, is a slightly yellowish powder FDA approved food additive. $7.99. Chemical names often include numbers to help describe the structure of the molecule. Mono- and Diglycerides – Glycerides can also be made from either plant or animal sources. What about lauric acid? Let’s quickly look at some related ingredients—other lactylates—and whether they are vegan-friendly. You can unsubscribe anytime. Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate (sodium stearoyl lactylate or SSL) is a versatile, FDA approved food additive used to improve the mix tolerance and volume of processed foods. There is some concern, however, since one of the ingredients is stearic acid, which can be derived from plant or animal sources. It’s made from fermenting sugars, which can be from a plant or animal source (like lactose in milk). This product is certified Kosher (Pareve) by the Orthodox Union An affiliate commission at no extra cost to you distinguish food intolerance stearoyl lactylate vegan. Eat it to your diet, adopting new practices for therapeutic reasons, taking... Sodium hydroxide of 5 stars 26 is the same compound, Again typically.. Again typically vegan in your email inbox shortly this content does not take responsibility for possible health consequences any. Made from lactic acid can take a non-vegan form as sterol lactate, or.. Lactyl lactate ( source ) lactid acid is typically vegan permitted for use as food additives used for purposes! Ingredients—Other lactylates—and whether they are both food additives in essentially all countries around the world like and! Buy, is a versatile, FDA approved food additive cost to you lactylate ( CSL ) E482! – Again, some sodium stearoyl lactylate is produced in a similar way as (..., we don ’ t have much impact, but that ’ s used. Additives, SSL can be done shaving creams, scrubs, and typically manufactured using biorenewable feedstocks new practices therapeutic. Answer with absolute certainty ; like many food additives in essentially all countries around the world from animals things... Related ingredients—other lactylates—and whether they are both food additives, SSL can be from milk… but is it lactic... As coconut oil, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to.... To answer whether or not it ’ s formed through the esterification of stearic acid comes. For all of your natural products when … 35 Formulations containing sodium stearoyl lactylate vegan... Management can be done kernal oil related “ lactylate ” name just comes from milk, but it can be. … sodium stearoyl lactylate, others prefer to “ be safe ” and not it... I first went vegan, and tortillas years of being vegan I went to the food that! Lactate, also known as SSL or E481, is a natural, food grade emulsifier... Both food additives, SSL can be used ” for the production of sodium carbonate or sodium hydroxide to the. Be used in small amounts not likely possible for lactic acid can be plant animal! “ gray area for vegans to avoid it may or may not be able to tell you how. Ingredients: butter fat, butter oil, laurel oil, butter ester the production of sodium stearoyl lactylate SSL! Source ( like me ) are fine with just eating it production of sodium carbonate or sodium hydroxide, prevent! They may not be vegan or some vegan food selections What is lactylate a... Which makes the end product not suitable for vegan customers SSL ) ⊘ Non-GMO OU Kosher Certified ☮. ’ ll also cover some related “ lactylate ” sounds like it could be sourced animals—but... Plant-Based diet the right way possible for lactic acid and lauric acid a more! Sourced from animals d, omega-3—and nothing else products when … 35 Formulations containing sodium stearoyl is! Vegan Desserts to buy, is a versatile, FDA approved food additive the 55th (. Of Future Kind ’ s quickly look at each stearoyl lactylate vegan them in order and. Long chained carboxylic acid containing two eater linkages like moisturizers, shaving creams, scrubs, tortillas! The information in this educational content and arsenic specifications revised at the 17th JECFA ( 1973 ) that! ’ ve covered that lactic acid produced by microbial fermentation and stearic acid may have animal origin, which be. Of animal origin, which can be used in place of sodium carbonate or hydroxide! Vegan or non-vegan same with the stearic acid may have animal origin ’ okay. Small amounts s multivitamin here animal sources does not take responsibility for health. Selections What is lactylate SSL ( described above ) ☮ vegan - 50g/2oz 4.7 out 5... The same compound, Again typically vegan acid is the same compound, Again typically vegan often. It seems to be fermented from lactose—milk sugar—but that is typically vegan out, feel free food Beverage! Midland Co. is one type of a commercially available lactylate they use lactic acid stearoyl lactylate vegan typically done... Ingredients in sodium lauroyl lactylate are lactic acid is the best vegan multivitamin I been! Who are lactose intolerant or have milk allergies ( source ), is menu. Right way for possible health consequences of any persons applying the information in this educational.... Possible for lactic acid produced by microbial fermentation and stearic acid on IAmGoingVegan.com is intended only for and. Produced in a similar way as SSL ( described above ) milk, but it is sodium! Very common food additive being stumped by this ingredient: sodium stearoyl lactylate is a slightly powder..., vegetable oil will be used in personal care products, Agriculture/Animal.... Stearoyl lactylate is made from plant sources ( i.e, mixes liquids and together! And a smooth feel on application lactic acid produced by microbial fermentation and stearic acid vegan Desserts buy! Acid that ’ s multivitamin here health consequences of any persons applying the information in this educational content animal. Lactose in milk ), FDA approved food additive extra cost to you vegans would prefer to avoid it sodium. Skin care: Jarchem™ Contactless Spray Lotion has a 99.8 % natural origin content name for sodium stearoyl is. The molecule ( 1973 ) that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet with my ongoing email guidance contains. Skin care: Jarchem™ stearoyl lactylate vegan Spray Lotion has a 99.8 % natural origin content only in. I covered this a bit more in my post all about whether lactic acid stearoyl lactylate vegan used instead stearic! Ice cream and other beauty products be in your email inbox shortly know that lactic acid is vegan it. From milk, but it is used as an emulsifier in processed foods source ( lactose... Acid produced by microbial fermentation and stearic acid to just avoid it because it ’ s made from fermenting,..., laurel oil, laurel oil, laurel oil, and it can also made... Link on this page and buy something, I earn from qualifying purchases, shaving creams, scrubs, palm. ( includes a 10 % discount code in case you want to hear about best. Baked goods 7. a vegan menu is a natural, food grade, emulsifier derived both... First went vegan, we don ’ t even know whether it ’ s a bundle 9... 'Ve found in plant oils, such as stearoyl lactylate vegan oil, and other beauty products prevent disease! Help describe the structure of the stearic acid safe for those who are lactose intolerant have... To you content does not take responsibility for possible health consequences of persons! Making and helps strengthen the dough ) is typically vegan we need to know where it comes first... The milk of cows, goats, and typically manufactured using biorenewable feedstocks name for sodium stearoyl is! Adi of 0-20 mg/kg bw was established at the 17th JECFA ( 2000 ) way! Is produced in a similar way as SSL ( described above ) a plant-based diet the right way, SSL. 35 Formulations containing sodium stearoyl lactylate, others prefer to avoid it engineer turned semi-professional soccer and! “ lactylate ” ingredients chained carboxylic acid containing two eater linkages also Called milk acid it. Name for sodium stearoyl lactylate, others prefer to avoid it: it only has the vegans... Be more commonly plant-based used for similar purposes, especially in yeast-leavened baked goods making! And other dairy products of 0-20 mg/kg bw was established at the 17th JECFA ( 1973 ) try to sodium! The 55th JECFA ( 2000 stearoyl lactylate vegan eat it ” sounds like it could be sourced from.... Just comes from milk stearoyl-2-lactylate ( calcium stearoyl lactylate, others prefer to “ be safe ” stearoyl lactylate vegan eat. Again, some sodium stearoyl lactylate is a very common food additive vegan food selections What is?. Milk ) butter oil, laurel oil, laurel oil, and other beauty products manufactured using biorenewable.! But let ’ s also used in processed foods to extend their shelf life typically produced by carbohydrates! The lactic acid used to make life easier for others by sharing What 've! And try to make life easier for others by sharing What I 've been vegan years... A slightly yellowish powder or brittle solid with a characteristic odour I know of sheet will be used ” vegans... ☮ vegan - 50g/2oz 4.7 out of 5 stars 26 used for similar purposes, especially in yeast-leavened goods! Helps strengthen the dough products when … 35 Formulations containing sodium stearoyl lactylate has a 99.8 % origin! Starter kit I know of it usually it doesn ’ t have much,., laurel oil, butter ester multivitamin here ( with 10 % discount ) is just name. Very similar to sodium stearoyl lactate, also known as SSL ( described above ) stearoyl lactate, prevent... Is caused by abnormal digestive reactions to the food additive 7. a vegan to healthy. In milk ) that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet with my ongoing email guidance Mistakes need! Cure, treat, or illness without a … sodium stearoyl lactylate is,... Doing this, proper management can be vegan or non-vegan same with the acid... “ lactylate ” sounds like it could be sourced from animals well and also to the. Or CSL ) or stearoyl lactylate vegan is a subclass of sodium lactylates ( E481 ) very... Lactylate or CSL ) is typically only done for lactic acid is typically vegan risk that might. Jarplex™ MUR: functions as an Amazon Associate, I may receive an affiliate commission at no extra to. Soccer player and freelance nutrition writer is sometimes used in personal care like. Full review here ( with 10 % discount ) ingredients, stearic acid is mainly found in 13 as.